You know how I feel about  photographs. I’ve been asked to post personal photographs from this journey as part of yesterday’s winning at life post by many.  My initial response was, no thanks.  But, in reflecting on it I have decided I will share here.  So, here is a recap of my past year with photographs.

I gained weight following surgery to repair a torn peroneal tendon. The recovery for me was brutal physically and emotionally. Without legs, I was left unable to do much of anything for a long time. When I finally hit the road running again, I failed to account for the extra weight I had gained, or the time off. I overtrained and suffered a femoral stress fracture near my right hip. Non weight bearing for weeks and mandatory 20 weeks off running was the prognosis.  I refused to go through this cycle again.

In January, at the time of my diagnosis, as a way to keep my emotions in check, I spent weeks doing upper workouts in a chair. While I did gain a few pounds, it was nothing like the last time. I started writing about my journey and sharing to keep myself accountable. I read a lot and felt like I learned so much from this experience. When I was cleared to run, I had fully researched and planned my return. I signed on for TLAM and am following their running plan (with some whining and lots of questions lol) and not letting my ego take over. I just finished week five of the Amazing Half plan and am excited for the future.

I don’t post these pictures to advocate weight loss, as healthy, injury free living is my goal. I post them to share my journey and remind myself that it’s truly a process. My first picture is from July 2015, just after I started to run post ankle surgery. The second is me in a 10K race in November 2015. The stress fracture occurred during a race on January 9, 2016. I had run a 15k the week prior and had pain following it. Of course, I failed to rest and continued running.  I had been running a race every weekend at that time, mostly 10k and 15k at HR of probably 170+. The last picture is from this week. Forgive the messy bedroom. I survived five weeks of running, four days a week with minimum ankle /foot issues. I truly am ‪truly #‎winningatlife.

Leave a Reply

